.africa domain

Available for 26.99 USD / yr during General Availability
Private Registration

Choose an availability phase

Available General Availability Pre-Order

General Availability Pre-Order

Available now

Starting at 26.99 USD

This is an order in General Availability prior to the launch of the domain name. You may choose to place a pre-order for your desired name if you do not qualify for Sunrise or do not want to order in Landrush. If the name isn’t registered in a Sunrise or landrush phase, and is not reserved by the registry, we will attempt to register the name as soon as the General Availability period starts. There is no guarantee that we will obtain the domain name, as other registrants may be competing for the same names. General availability is first come, first served.

* All launch dates and pricing are subject to change per registry operator policies.
Purchases made in any pre-General Availability launch phase are non-refundable, or subject to a cancellation fee, unless purchase is made in an earlier phase by you or another party, the name is denied due to registration by another party, registration is prohibited due to policy, or requirements cannot be met. In most cases, application fees are not refundable for any reason.
Phase Closed Sunrise
"What does this mean?"

Sunrise

Trademark Holders only
04 Apr 2017 00:00 UTC
  • Munich - 04 Apr 2017 02:00 CEST
  • London - 04 Apr 2017 01:00 BST
  • Los Angeles - 03 Apr 2017 17:00 PDT
  • New York - 03 Apr 2017 20:00 EDT
  • Moscow - 04 Apr 2017 03:00 MSK
  • Beijing - 04 Apr 2017 08:00 CST
 to
02 Jun 2017 21:59 UTC
  • Munich - 02 Jun 2017 23:59 CEST
  • London - 02 Jun 2017 22:59 BST
  • Los Angeles - 02 Jun 2017 14:59 PDT
  • New York - 02 Jun 2017 17:59 EDT
  • Moscow - 03 Jun 2017 00:59 MSK
  • Beijing - 03 Jun 2017 05:59 CST

Starting at 229.99 USD

Sunrise Description

This phase is for trademark holders who have verified their trademark with the Trademark Clearinghouse (TMCH). You must submit a valid SMD file issued by the TMCH to register a domain during this phase.

Domain names will be allocated after the phase has closed. Multiple applications will go to auction. Certain names may be reserved or considered premium names.

Setup fees are non-refundable during this phase

×
* All launch dates and pricing are subject to change per registry operator policies.
Purchases made in any pre-General Availability launch phase are non-refundable, or subject to a cancellation fee, unless purchase is made in an earlier phase by you or another party, the name is denied due to registration by another party, registration is prohibited due to policy, or requirements cannot be met. In most cases, application fees are not refundable for any reason.
Current Phase Landrush
"What does this mean?"

Landrush

Early Access Program (EAP)
04 Jun 2017 22:00 UTC
  • Munich - 05 Jun 2017 00:00 CEST
  • London - 04 Jun 2017 23:00 BST
  • Los Angeles - 04 Jun 2017 15:00 PDT
  • New York - 04 Jun 2017 18:00 EDT
  • Moscow - 05 Jun 2017 01:00 MSK
  • Beijing - 05 Jun 2017 06:00 CST
 to
31 Jul 2017 23:59 UTC
  • Munich - 01 Aug 2017 01:59 CEST
  • London - 01 Aug 2017 00:59 BST
  • Los Angeles - 31 Jul 2017 16:59 PDT
  • New York - 31 Jul 2017 19:59 EDT
  • Moscow - 01 Aug 2017 02:59 MSK
  • Beijing - 01 Aug 2017 07:59 CST
  • Closed
    04 Jun 2017 - Early Access Phase 1 until
    09 Jun 2017 21:59 UTC
    • Munich - 09 Jun 2017 23:59 CEST
    • London - 09 Jun 2017 22:59 BST
    • Los Angeles - 09 Jun 2017 14:59 PDT
    • New York - 09 Jun 2017 17:59 EDT
    • Moscow - 10 Jun 2017 00:59 MSK
    • Beijing - 10 Jun 2017 05:59 CST
  • Closed
    11 Jun 2017 - Early Access Phase 2 until
    16 Jun 2017 21:59 UTC
    • Munich - 16 Jun 2017 23:59 CEST
    • London - 16 Jun 2017 22:59 BST
    • Los Angeles - 16 Jun 2017 14:59 PDT
    • New York - 16 Jun 2017 17:59 EDT
    • Moscow - 17 Jun 2017 00:59 MSK
    • Beijing - 17 Jun 2017 05:59 CST
  • Closed
    18 Jun 2017 - Early Access Phase 3 until
    23 Jun 2017 21:59 UTC
    • Munich - 23 Jun 2017 23:59 CEST
    • London - 23 Jun 2017 22:59 BST
    • Los Angeles - 23 Jun 2017 14:59 PDT
    • New York - 23 Jun 2017 17:59 EDT
    • Moscow - 24 Jun 2017 00:59 MSK
    • Beijing - 24 Jun 2017 05:59 CST
  • Closed
    25 Jun 2017 - Early Access Phase 4 until
    30 Jun 2017 21:59 UTC
    • Munich - 30 Jun 2017 23:59 CEST
    • London - 30 Jun 2017 22:59 BST
    • Los Angeles - 30 Jun 2017 14:59 PDT
    • New York - 30 Jun 2017 17:59 EDT
    • Moscow - 01 Jul 2017 00:59 MSK
    • Beijing - 01 Jul 2017 05:59 CST
  • Current - Starting at 200.00 USD
    03 Jul 2017 - Early Access Phase 5 until
    31 Jul 2017 21:59 UTC
    • Munich - 31 Jul 2017 23:59 CEST
    • London - 31 Jul 2017 22:59 BST
    • Los Angeles - 31 Jul 2017 14:59 PDT
    • New York - 31 Jul 2017 17:59 EDT
    • Moscow - 01 Aug 2017 00:59 MSK
    • Beijing - 01 Aug 2017 05:59 CST

Landrush Description

Gain early access if you don’t qualify for Sunrise. The most sought-after domain names will most likely be sold during this phase.

At the end of the Landrush phase, all uncontested domain applications will be delegated. All contested domain applications will proceed to an Auction Phase. Applicants will be notified by the Registry on the Auction process should this occur. Domain auctions will last a minimum of 3 days. Any bids within the final 12 hours will extend any auction by an additional 24 hours.

Certain names may be reserved or considered premium names.

Application fees are refundable if domain is not successful.

×
* All launch dates and pricing are subject to change per registry operator policies.
Purchases made in any pre-General Availability launch phase are non-refundable, or subject to a cancellation fee, unless purchase is made in an earlier phase by you or another party, the name is denied due to registration by another party, registration is prohibited due to policy, or requirements cannot be met. In most cases, application fees are not refundable for any reason.
Begins 01 Aug 2017 General Availability

General Availability

Begins
01 Aug 2017 22:00 UTC
  • Munich - 02 Aug 2017 00:00 CEST
  • London - 01 Aug 2017 23:00 BST
  • Los Angeles - 01 Aug 2017 15:00 PDT
  • New York - 01 Aug 2017 18:00 EDT
  • Moscow - 02 Aug 2017 01:00 MSK
  • Beijing - 02 Aug 2017 06:00 CST

Starting at 26.99 USD

General Availability is not open yet.

If you do not qualify for the current phase,
please choose General Availability Pre-Order.

Any General Availability Pre-Order orders will be processed immediately after General Availability opens. If the domain cannot be registered, you will receive a full refund.

* All launch dates and pricing are subject to change per registry operator policies.

How do I start a .africa website?

Domain Search

Find your name

Find the perfect .africa domain using 101domain's powerful search engine.

Easy Website Builder

Build your website

Add our website builder during checkout to build professional quality websites with no experience.

Email Services

Send email

Add an email during checkout so you can start spreading the word about your new website.

.africa Domain

What is a .africa domain?

The .africa domain extension is the new gTLD catering to the continent of Africa. This extension is being offered to promote the development and growth of the internet in Africa.

How do I buy a .africa domain?

Looking to buy a .africa domain name? You've come to the right place! ZACR, the registry authorized to operate the .africa domain, has accredited 101domain to provide domain registration services for .africa domains.

  • You can trust 101domain to do it right, because domain names are our specialty.
  • 101domain is uniquely positioned to help guide you through the .africa registration process.
  • Our business was built on providing simple and timely domain registration services, and superior support once you have your name.

How do I transfer a .africa domain?

Transferring your .africa domain name is a fast and easy process. Get started by clicking "Transfer Now" below, and our Domain Specialists will help you navigate the process. Every .africa domain transfer into 101domain includes an additional year(s) renewal, so you're not losing any time, just saving money and gaining the access to the largest portfolio of extensions in the business and 101domain's powerful domain management system.

Starting @ 26.99 USD / yr

Transfer Now

FAQs for .africa

What is the registration term allowed for .africa domain names?
The minimum term for .africa cpr144449003101 domain names is 1 year(s).
How long does it take to register my .africa domain name?
.africa is not expected to launch until 2017-08-01. cpr144449003101 Once launched, a registration time frame will be available.
What are the characters and valid character lengths for .africa domain names?
Domain Names must:
  • have minimum of 1 and a maximum of 63 characters;
  • begin with a letter or a number and end with a letter or a number;
  • use the English character set and may contain letters (i.e., a-z, A-Z),numbers (i.e. 0-9) and dashes (-) or a combination of these;
  • neither begin with, nor cpr144449003101 end with a dash;
  • not contain a dash in the third and fourth positions (e.g. www.ab- -cd.africa); and
  • not include a space (e.g. www.ab cd.africa).
Trustee Service for .africa

Trustee Service helps you satisfy most local presence requirements when there are restrictions on registering a domain name.

cpr144449003101

Trustee service is not available for this extension

How do I host my .africa domain name?
101domain.com offers hosting and email service for .africa. You can order hosting, email service and SSL certificates at checkout or you can contact sales.cpr144449003101
Can I transfer out my domain if I’m using your Trustee Service?
Trustee service is non-transferable. If you are using our Trustee Service, you cpr144449003101 must update ownership according to .africa requirements before transfer out can be started.
Can I hide my registration information (Private Registration)?
Yes. You can activate Private Registration cpr144449003101 during the purchase of a new domain.
Grace period for .africa domain name?
In accordance with ICANN, Generic Top Level Domains (gTLD) have a 40 day "Grace period" in which a domain name can be renewed without incurring an additional fee. Its important to note however that cpr144449003101 your domain will no longer resolve on the day it expires. After the 40 day grace period, there is a 30 day "Redemption Period" in which you can renew your domain name for an additional $150 USD.
.africa Domains Dispute & Policy
Please contact the registry for cpr144449003101 the most current dispute policy

Domain Requirements for .africa

Are Individual .africa domain registrations allowed? Yes
Company or legal entities registrations allowed for .africa? Yes
Are there requirements, documents, or information needed for .africa? No
Are some .africa domain names restricted? Yes

Some domain names may be permanently or temporarily reserved or restricted for registry operations, as premium domain names or to comply with ICANN requirements.

To comply with ICANN requirements, all two-character domains shall be initially reserved, however may be released in the future. In addition reserved names for a) International Olympic Committee, b) International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and c) Intergovernmental Organizations, for new gTLDs., are not available in accordance with ICANN. The list of these names can be found here.

Does .africa domain have a special use? No
Other information I need to know about .africa? No
Are there any additional fees for .africa? No
Do I need a trademark/brand name to register .africa? No
Private Registration service available? Yes
Trustee / Proxy service offered? Fees? No

How do I renew a .africa domain?

Renewing your domain name is simple! Just click "Renew Now" below, or log into your Account Manager, select your .africa domain name that you would like to renew, select the term of your renewal, and check out. That's it!

We also offer Auto Renew—a great way to keep your domain name up-to-date without having to worry about letting them accidentally expire. Check your Account Settings to find out if you have it enabled.

Starting @ 26.99 USD / yr

Renew Now